Give me a break!

Archive of the Sojourn3 General Discussion Forum.
Zen
Sojourner

Give me a break!

Postby Zen » Thu Sep 19, 2002 2:15 am

http://www.cnn.com/2002/US/Northeast/09/18/sept11.statue.ap/index.html

I'm curious what everyone thinks of this. As an artist, I'm deeply offended by this. From what I can see in the photographs, this was the work of a talented artists and it is tastefully done. I can understand there are a lot of emotions over the events of 9/11 that are contributing to this article, but honestly? Give me a break.

There is something very sincere about this sculpture. To make a piece of art that depicts tradgedy does not demean its victims. I think if anything it honors them because it does not allow us to forget them.

And this in a society that puts art made from the ashes of the artists dead homo-sexual partner and the artists own blood in a gallery and then says if you don't like it don't go see it.

Like I said, I'd be curious to see what ppl have to say, but give me a break and let everyone honor the victims and heros of 9/11 as they can.

-Zenriel

------------------
The Lord of the Iron Wastes holds his hammer high in the air, shouting a torment... 'Weak fools!'
Malacar
Sojourner

Postby Malacar » Thu Sep 19, 2002 2:29 am

I think people are just really raw with it being the 1 year anniversary. Easy tiger.

------------------
Malacar - omg ymir!
Erthyne
Sojourner

Postby Erthyne » Thu Sep 19, 2002 2:47 am

I think that statue is nicely done.

That is just the artist's way to express how he feels about the incident.

Do not understand why it needs to be removed. If you don't like it, then don't look at it, just because some were 'offended' by it, doesn't mean anyone has the right to strip of the chance for others who might enjoy that sculpture to experience it.

Everyone has a right to remember 9/11 however they like.
Corth
Sojourner

Postby Corth » Thu Sep 19, 2002 2:48 am