Locate object etc

Feedback, bugs, and general gameplay related discussion.
Thrand
Sojourner
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2001 6:01 am

Locate object etc

Postby Thrand » Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:54 pm

Why doesn't locate object inform you as to
who is holding the container an obect is in?

Please tell me its not intentionally this way
so people can horde items and prevent farming without
being held responsible.

I've noticed that someone is killing a certain mob
on em and then hiding the container it carries
on another mob.

Since there is no reason to give the container to the mob
other than to prevent popping of said item, I am wondering
if you could look out for this person and delete their ass.

And if not why not?

Lopi
Arilin Nydelahar
Sojourner
Posts: 1499
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 5:01 am
Location: Virginia Beach
Contact:

Postby Arilin Nydelahar » Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:15 pm

Whenever I read your posts, with the formatting you have I always feel I should be reading in rhyme, or it should at the least be a haiku.
Shevarash OOC: 'what can I say, I'm attracted to crazy chicks and really short dudes'
Thilindel
Sojourner
Posts: 3173
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Postby Thilindel » Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:23 pm

The rest of the zone's limit for several items is one per boot. I suggest said quest item be set to that to end this stupidity. It's really annoying, and everybody races to reduce mob at boot/crash.
Adriorn Darkcloak
Sojourner
Posts: 1292
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 7:11 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Adriorn Darkcloak » Sat May 10, 2008 2:38 pm

This is just getting ridiculous. The fact that some asshole is purposefully playing the game with 15 of the containers and several of the red item just to prevent farming is sad. I'm hoping the gods do something and cage the shit outta whomever it is.
"There is one big rule in life - the things you worry about never happen, and the things that happen are never the ones you expect." - John Bellairs
Thilindel
Sojourner
Posts: 3173
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:09 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Thilindel » Sat May 10, 2008 6:00 pm

that's not always true. when someone has their stupid stash loaded, and access it at an inn, it seems to be on locate for awhile even after they leave. I was trying to locate an airship item and I knew the other player had several in their storage. Not sure why it comes up on locate since it's storage, not the game -per se-
Grundar tells you 'I took on the entire football team once. The only reason my mom knew later was because I had a runny nose'
Gormal
Sojourner
Posts: 3917
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2001 6:01 am
Location: A Whale's Vagina
Contact:

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Gormal » Sat May 10, 2008 6:28 pm

An opened storage cache takes time to actually leave the game. The only way to truly rent out items is to put it on a storage character and rent that character out. There's a ton of quest item hoarding that goes on, this is just the most inconsiderate type.
Thrand
Sojourner
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2001 6:01 am

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Thrand » Mon May 12, 2008 6:09 pm

So the solution to this problem is remove this quest as it it and
let a few people know that it was taken out and changed.
This way those that don't know it's out and changed get to be
a jolly old chuckle for those that do as they try and farm the
item the old way.

Thanks
Gormal
Sojourner
Posts: 3917
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2001 6:01 am
Location: A Whale's Vagina
Contact:

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Gormal » Mon May 12, 2008 6:53 pm

Ask Eil to make the quest item !rent or change the maxload.
Eilistraee
Staff Member - Quests
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 7:20 pm

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Eilistraee » Mon May 12, 2008 7:25 pm

The maxload has been changed. If there's more than 1000 in the game, well then there'll be a problem.

The load rate has also changed. But with the high maxload, more than one can be obtained in a boot.

I'm not going to make the container norent. That does crazy stuff to anything stored inside them. And while most people might not use them for containers, there's possibly somebody who does and I don't want to have to sort out a reimb.

Incidentally, for the item in question, there were actually two items above it that could interfere with the loading. They both share the high maxload now, but it wasn't only the container that was holding up repop from time to time.
Eilistraee
Gormal
Sojourner
Posts: 3917
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2001 6:01 am
Location: A Whale's Vagina
Contact:

Re: Locate object etc

Postby Gormal » Mon May 12, 2008 8:07 pm

Get outta my head and into my pants.

Return to “T2 Gameplay Discussion Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest