Disarm

Submit and discuss your ideas for the MUD.
kragt
Sojourner
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 5:01 am

Disarm

Postby kragt » Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:53 pm

Would it be possible to change disarm to not require entering the name of the weapon? For example disarm by itself would attempt to disarm the primary weapon if there is one wielded if not then try the secondary weapon. Disarm <weapon> would still attempt to disarm the specific weapon.
moritheil
Sojourner
Posts: 4845
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2001 6:01 am

Postby moritheil » Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:18 pm

Well, it is how it is so you can't spam it in fights when you don't know what the enemy is wielding. Whether that feature makes sense any more I'll leave to the meleers to debate.
Yotus group-says 'special quest if you type hi dragon'
Shevarash OOC: 'I feature only the finest mammary glands.'
Silena group-says 'he was so fat and juicy..couldnt resist'
Malvareth
Sojourner
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:40 pm

Postby Malvareth » Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:21 am

All other muds I've played allow you to type "disarm" and your character will disarm their opponent's primary weapon. I find this preferable, both because it's much simpler to use and because it makes no sense that you, the player, need to squint through combat spam in order for your character to figure out what kind of weapon someone's trying to kill him/her with. You don't need to specify a target with kick, bash and most other combat-related skills, so why should you have to know the keyword for the weapon you're trying to disarm? Your character most certainly knows unless blinded.
Dalar
Sojourner
Posts: 4905
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 6:01 am

Postby Dalar » Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:32 am

moritheil wrote:Well, it is how it is so you can't spam it in fights when you don't know what the enemy is wielding. Whether that feature makes sense any more I'll leave to the meleers to debate.


So just add in a check to see if the weapon is noshow or not? Even if there is a reason for it on this MUD, it usually isn't logical.
It will be fixed in Toril 2.0.
Aremat group-says 'tanks i highly suggest investing 20 silver in training weapons from cm to cut down on the losing scales to shield'
User avatar
Shevarash
FORGER CODER
Posts: 2944
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 6:01 am

Postby Shevarash » Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:35 pm

Yeah, it should default to your target's first available weapon slot. I rewrote disarm completely for 2.0, and it does function like that. I'll see about tossing in a band-aid fix to the current disarm for the time being though.
Shevarash -- Code Forger of TorilMUD
Raiwen
Sojourner
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2001 6:01 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga USA
Contact:

Postby Raiwen » Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:46 am

that's great as long as you fix the inability to disarm a secondary weapon when the primary weapon has already been disarmed/flung.
User avatar
Shevarash
FORGER CODER
Posts: 2944
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 6:01 am

Postby Shevarash » Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:37 pm

Shevarash -- Code Forger of TorilMUD

Return to “T2 Ideas Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests