Use your brain

Archive of the Sojourn3 Gameplay Discussion Forum.
Caedym
Sojourner

Use your brain

Postby Caedym » Wed Aug 27, 2003 4:54 pm

About a year ago Cyric offered up a challenge on the BBS to write a zone that was beyond the current MUD standards but without using new code, because new builders don’t get special code on their first zones. Being an actual game developer, I took his challenge to heart. Originally I was designing 1 zone. It has since forked out in to approximately 8 different simultaneously being developed zones that cover multiple player levels. So if you’re wondering what happened to me for a while there, there you have it. Some are close to being finished, some have a ways to go. It’s not just Cyric’s challenge I’m trying to live up to, but there are other factors. Such as putting the current world map of Soj zones more in alignment with proper FR map locations and size.

There was a thread on here with equipment ideas, but that’s not important to me atm. Equipment is really the last thing on my mind, even though I’m going to ask for a little input on one avenue of it, but that’s because it has to do more with quests. What I need from players is more direct feedback about the current existing zones. What you like. What’s good. What’s not good. What you’d like to see happen in a zone. Any zone ideas you yourself have had.

I’ve looked at the zone docs over the past years and they’ve come a long way. Interesting enough there are a lot of things that can be pulled off within the existing code to make things a lot more interesting, without the need for special code. In essence, I see ways to fake A.I. and really throw normal fighting tactics for a loop.

Imagine mobs that call for reinforcements when things get tough.

Imagine doing a zone that is different every time you do it. Not just the equipment you get, but all the mobs you fight along the way.

Imagine the major mob(s) of a zone having a different class each time you fight them.